TV Listings

Print HELP

Growing Pains

The ``Father Knows Best'' of the 1980s, Dr. Jason Seaver is a psychiatrist who has moved his practice into his Long Island, N.Y., home so that his wife, Maggie, can resume her career. Their children are girl-crazy Mike, brainiac Carol and cute little Ben (later, precocious Chrissie was born). This series, however, tackles issues that ``Father Knows Best'' wouldn't have: drugs, suicide, peer pressure, alcohol. But the Seavers pull through problems with a sense of humor and usually emerge stronger than before.

Sep 24, 1985
Original Network:
  • Rate this show:
    3.6 / 5.0
    Avg. 3.6 (25 ratings)
  • Share

All Upcoming Times for Growing Pains

Episode Air Date Channel

The Last Picture Show

S07, E24  (First Aired: Apr. 25, 1992)
Maggie makes her decision about the job offer to work as a media relations director for a U.S. senator.


S01, E01  (First Aired: Sep. 24, 1985)
Psychologist Jason Seaver decides to move his private practice into his home.


S01, E02  (First Aired: Oct. 1, 1985)
Jason (Alan Thicke) inadvertently embarrasses Mike (Kirk Cameron) with his enthusiastic behavior at a Bruce Springsteen concert.


S01, E03  (First Aired: Oct. 8, 1985)
Jason (Alan Thicke) is jealous when Maggie (Joanna Kerns) stays late at the office with a handsome co-worker.

Carol's Article

S01, E04  (First Aired: Oct. 15, 1985)
Carol's hopes of becoming a writer are crushed by Maggie's honest criticism of her work.

Dance Fever

S03, E19  (First Aired: Mar. 1, 1988)
Love is in the air when Jason and Maggie (Alan Thicke, Joanna Kerns) agree to chaperon a high-school dance. Guest stars Andrew Koenig and K.C. Martel.

Dance Fever

S03, E20  (First Aired: Mar. 2, 1988)
Love turns sour for Jason and Maggie (Alan Thicke, Joanna Kerns) when jealousy interferes with their enchanted evening at the high-school dance. Guest stars Andrew Koenig and K.C. Martel.


S01, E05  (First Aired: Oct. 29, 1985)
Maggie (Joanna Kerns) feels she is losing her children's love after Carol (Tracey Gold) confides in Jason (Alan Thicke) about a school crush.

Mike's Madonna Story

S01, E06  (First Aired: Nov. 5, 1985)
Maggie and Jason disagree over how to handle Mike's date with a teenage sexpot.

The Weekend Fantasy

S01, E07  (First Aired: Nov. 12, 1985)
While on a weekend trip, Maggie and Jason panic when they call home and no one answers.

Slice of Life

S01, E08  (First Aired: Nov. 19, 1985)
Jason and Maggie decide that they will take a compatibility test.

Carol's Crush

S01, E09  (First Aired: Nov. 26, 1985)
A lovestruck Carol goes to wild extremes to impress a visiting family friend.