TV Listings

Print HELP

Growing Pains

The ``Father Knows Best'' of the 1980s, Dr. Jason Seaver is a psychiatrist who has moved his practice into his Long Island, N.Y., home so that his wife, Maggie, can resume her career. Their children are girl-crazy Mike, brainiac Carol and cute little Ben (later, precocious Chrissie was born). This series, however, tackles issues that ``Father Knows Best'' wouldn't have: drugs, suicide, peer pressure, alcohol. But the Seavers pull through problems with a sense of humor and usually emerge stronger than before.

Sep 24, 1985
Original Network:
  • Rate this show:
    3.6 / 5.0
    Avg. 3.6 (25 ratings)
  • Share

All Upcoming Times for Growing Pains

Episode Air Date Channel

The Seavers vs. the Cleavers

S01, E16  (First Aired: Jan. 28, 1986)
Jason and Maggie protest when a PTA president considers them unfit as student chaperons. Guest: Annette Funicello.
  • Sat 2/24
  • 3:00PM-3:30PM
  • 16.2

Charity Begins at Home

S01, E17  (First Aired: Feb. 18, 1986)
Ben cooks up a scheme to raise enough money to buy his father a birthday present.
  • Sun 2/25
  • 3:00PM-3:30PM
  • 16.2


S01, E18  (First Aired: Feb. 25, 1986)
Jason and Maggie (Alan Thicke, Joanna Kerns) suspect Mike (Kirk Cameron) has cheated on a history exam.
  • Sat 3/3
  • 3:00PM-3:30PM
  • 16.2

The Anniversary That Never Was

S01, E19  (First Aired: Mar. 4, 1986)
Jason and Maggie attempt to celebrate their wedding anniversary.
  • Sun 3/4
  • 3:00PM-3:30PM
  • 16.2