TV Listings

Print HELP

Growing Pains

The ``Father Knows Best'' of the 1980s, Dr. Jason Seaver is a psychiatrist who has moved his practice into his Long Island, N.Y., home so that his wife, Maggie, can resume her career. Their children are girl-crazy Mike, brainiac Carol and cute little Ben (later, precocious Chrissie was born). This series, however, tackles issues that ``Father Knows Best'' wouldn't have: drugs, suicide, peer pressure, alcohol. But the Seavers pull through problems with a sense of humor and usually emerge stronger than before.

Sep 24, 1985
Original Network:
  • Rate this show:
    3.6 / 5.0
    Avg. 3.6 (25 ratings)
  • Share

All Upcoming Times for Growing Pains

Episode Air Date Channel

Charity Begins at Home

S01, E17  (First Aired: Feb. 18, 1986)
Ben cooks up a scheme to raise enough money to buy his father a birthday present.


S01, E18  (First Aired: Feb. 25, 1986)
Jason and Maggie (Alan Thicke, Joanna Kerns) suspect Mike (Kirk Cameron) has cheated on a history exam.

The Anniversary That Never Was

S01, E19  (First Aired: Mar. 4, 1986)
Jason and Maggie attempt to celebrate their wedding anniversary.

Be a Man

S01, E20  (First Aired: Mar. 11, 1986)
Mike's small get-together turns into a riotous party while his parents are away.

The Weekend Fantasy

S01, E07  (First Aired: Nov. 12, 1985)
While on a weekend trip, Maggie and Jason panic when they call home and no one answers.

Slice of Life

S01, E08  (First Aired: Nov. 19, 1985)
Jason and Maggie decide that they will take a compatibility test.

Career Decision

S01, E21  (First Aired: May. 6, 1986)
Reporter Maggie and psychiatrist Jason face career decisions.

Extra Lap

S01, E22  (First Aired: May. 13, 1986)
Mike is (Kirk Cameron) devastated when his joke-playing uncle (James Callahan) -- who's also his jogging partner -- dies suddenly.

Jason and the Cruisers

S02, E01  (First Aired: Sep. 30, 1986)
When Jason (Alan Thicke) sinks into a depression over getting older, Maggie (Joanna Kerns) hopes to surprise him by reuniting his college rock band.

Fast Times at Dewey High

S02, E02  (First Aired: Oct. 21, 1986)
A new school year brings boredom, bullies and romantic mix-ups.

Long Day's Journey Into Night

S02, E03  (First Aired: Oct. 28, 1986)
Mike learns that Carol's girlfriend is using her to get to him.

Carol's Crush

S01, E09  (First Aired: Nov. 26, 1985)
A lovestruck Carol goes to wild extremes to impress a visiting family friend.

Dirt Bike

S01, E10  (First Aired: Dec. 3, 1985)
Mike lands in hot water when he disobeys his parents to ride a dirt bike.

No Episode Title

(First Aired: Sep. 24, 1985)
Psychiatrist Jason Seaver raises a family in suburban New York.