TV Listings

Print HELP

All in the Family

``All in the Family'' is touted as the series that brought reality to prime-time TV entertainment. The lead character, Archie Bunker, is a loudmouthed, uneducated bigot who believes in every stereotype he has ever heard. His wife, Edith, is sweet but not the sharpest knife in the drawer. They and their daughter, Gloria, and her husband, Mike, all live in a working-class home. Unfortunately for Archie, he can't avoid the people he disdains: His son-in-law -- whom Archie calls ``Meathead'' -- is an unemployed student and of Polish descent; the Jeffersons next door are black; Edith's cousin Maude is a feminist; and, later, his partners in a local tavern are Jewish.

Jan 12, 1971
Original Network:
  • Rate this show:
    4.6 / 5.0
    Avg. 4.6 (995 ratings)
  • Share

All Upcoming Times for All in the Family

Episode Air Date Channel

Chain Letter

S06, E06  (First Aired: Oct. 20, 1975)
Archie feels that the chain letter he threw away has suddenly caused him bad luck and physical pains.

Oh, My Aching Back

S01, E03  (First Aired: Jan. 26, 1971)
Archie tries to sue for whiplash after he is in a minor auto accident.

Mike Faces Life

S06, E07  (First Aired: Oct. 27, 1975)
Mike is enraged when Gloria receives a pink slip in her paycheck because she is pregnant.

Judging Books by Covers

S01, E05  (First Aired: Feb. 9, 1971)
Archie ridicules one of Mike and Gloria's friends for being gay.

Edith Breaks Out

S06, E08  (First Aired: Nov. 3, 1975)
Edith refuses to stop her volunteer work at the home for the aged despite Archie's orders.

Archie Gives Blood

S01, E04  (First Aired: Feb. 2, 1971)
Mike shames Archie into being a blood donor, but Archie insists on knowing where the blood will be going.

Grandpa Blues

S06, E09  (First Aired: Nov. 10, 1975)
Archie is upset over Gloria and Mike's ideas for names for the baby and needs to remain calm for a physical at his workplace.

Gloria's Pregnancy

S01, E06  (First Aired: Feb. 16, 1971)
Archie explodes when he finds out that Gloria is pregnant and Mike has no means of supporting the child.

Gloria Suspects Mike

S06, E10  (First Aired: Nov. 17, 1975)
Gloria suspects the worst after Mike's once-a-week job of tutoring a college student turns into a twice-a-week job.

The Locket

S03, E11  (First Aired: Nov. 25, 1972)
Edith's antique locket is missing and Archie sees it as a way to collect from the insurance company to buy a new television set. Archie orders a new color set, only to have an insurance adjuster arrive at the house to question the claim.

The Draft Dodger

S07, E15  (First Aired: Dec. 25, 1976)
Christmas dinner finds Archie playing host to a draft dodger and a father whose son was killed in the war.

Christmas Day at the Bunkers'

S02, E13  (First Aired: Dec. 18, 1971)
Archie is depressed because he did not get his usual Christmas bonus.

Edith's Christmas Story

S04, E15  (First Aired: Dec. 22, 1973)
The Bunker household's Christmas mood turns grim when Edith tells Gloria she is going for a surgical examination.

Mike's Hippie Friends Come to Visit

S01, E07  (First Aired: Feb. 23, 1971)
Archie objects to Mike's unmarried friends staying the night in the house.

Lionel Moves Into the Neighborhood

S01, E08  (First Aired: Mar. 2, 1971)
Archie tries in vain to prevent a black family from moving into the neighborhood.

Edith Has Jury Duty

S01, E09  (First Aired: Mar. 9, 1971)
Edith accepts a call to jury duty and becomes the lone dissenting juror in a murder case.

Archie and the Bowling Team

S03, E14  (First Aired: Dec. 16, 1972)
Archie is excited when he has the chance to try out for a prestigious bowling team after six years of waiting for a vacancy on the team.

Archie Goes to the Hospital

S03, E15  (First Aired: Jan. 6, 1973)
Archie has been suffering from a terrible pain in his back and has become a terrible pain to Edith, who has been waiting on him hand and foot. When the doctor takes a look at him, he orders Archie to be admitted to the hospital for tests.